skip to content
The concerto : a listener's guide Preview this item
ClosePreview this item

The concerto : a listener's guide

Author: Michael Steinberg
Publisher: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
Edition/Format:   eBook : Document : EnglishView all editions and formats
Michael Steinberg's 1996 volume The Symphony: A Reader's Guide received glowing reviews across America. It was hailed as "wonderfully clear ... recommended warmly to music lovers on all levels" (Washington Post), "informed and thoughtful" (Chicago Tribune), and "composed by a master stylist"(San Francisco Chronicle). Seiji Ozawa wrote that "his beautiful and effortless prose speaks from the heart." Michael Tilson  Read more...
Getting this item's online copy... Getting this item's online copy...

Find a copy in the library

Getting this item's location and availability... Getting this item's location and availability...


Find it in libraries globally
Worldwide libraries own this item


Genre/Form: Electronic books
Additional Physical Format: Print version:
Steinberg, Michael, 1928-2009.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000
(DLC) 97042678
Material Type: Document, Internet resource
Document Type: Internet Resource, Computer File
All Authors / Contributors: Michael Steinberg
ISBN: 1423738675 9781423738671 9780198026341 019802634X 0195139313 9780195139310
OCLC Number: 62386803
Notes: Originally published: 1998.
Description: 1 online resource (xv, 506 pages) : music
Contents: Adams:. Violin concerto --
Bach: The Branderburg concertos; Harpsichord (or Violin) concerto in D minor; Two-violin concerto --
Barber: Piano concerto; violin concerto --
Bartók: Piano concertos no. 1-3; Violin concerto no. 2 --
Beethoven: Piano concertos no. 1-5; Triple concerto for piano, violin, and cello; Violin concerto --
Berg: Violin concerto --
Brahms: Piano concertos no. 1-2; Violin concerto; Double concerto for violin and cello --
Bridge: Oration, for cello and orchestra --
Britten. Violin concerto; Symphony for cello and orchestra --
Bruch: Violin concerto no. 1; Scottish fantasy, for violin and orchestra --
Carter: Oboe concerto; Violin concerto; Double concerto for harpsichord, piano, and two orchestras --
Chausson: Poème, for violin and orchestra --
Copland: Clarinet concerto --
Dvor̆ák: Cello concerto --
Elgar: Cello concerto; Violin concerto --
Grieg: Piano concerto --
Hindemith: Cello concerto; Der Schwanendreher, for viola and orchestra Trauermusik, for viola and orchestra --
Korngold: Violin concerto --
Lalo: Symphonie espagnole, for violin and orchestra --
Ligeti: Cello concerto; Piano concerto; Violin concerto --
Liszt: Piano concertos no. 1-2 --
Lutosławsk:. Cello concerto --
Martin: Concerto for seven winds, timpani, percussion, and string; Polyptyque, for violin and two string orchestra[s] --
Mendelssohn: Piano concerto no. 1; Violin concerto --
Mozart: Clarinet concerto; Horn concerto no. 3; Piano concertos no. 9, 11-27; Violin concertos no. 3-5; Sinfonia concertante, for violin and viola --
Nielsen: Clarinet concerto; Flute concerto --
Perle: Piano concerto no. 1 --
Prokofiev: Piano concerto no. 2-3; Violin concerto no. 1-2 --
Rachmaninoff: Piano concertos no. 2-3; Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini, for piano and orchestra --
Ravel:Piano concerto in G; Concerto for piano, left-hand and orchestra --
Reger:Piano concerto --
Saint-Saëns:Piano concertos no. 2, 4 --
Schoenberg:Piano concerto; Violin concerto --
Schuman:Violin concerto --
Schumann:Cello concerto; Piano concerto; Violin concerto; Concertstück, for four horns --
Sessions: Violin concerto --
Shostakovich: Cello concerto no. 1; Piano concerto no. 1; Violin concerto no. 1 --
Sibelius: Violin concerto --
Strauss: Burleske, for piano and orchestra; Horn concertos no. 1-2; Oboe concerto --
Stravinsky: Capriccio for piano and orchestra; Piano concerto; Violin concerto --
Tchaikovsky: Piano concertos no. 1-2; Violin concerto; Variations on a Rococo theme, for cello and orchestra --
Walton: Cello concerto; Viola concerto; Violin concerto --
Zimmermann: Nobody knows de trouble I see, for trumpet and orchestra.
Responsibility: Michael Steinberg.


A companion to his The Symphony: A Listener's Guide , Steinberg's new book covers the orchestral concerto repertoire from Bach to the present and featuring all instruments.  Read more...
Retrieving notes about this item Retrieving notes about this item


Editorial reviews

Publisher Synopsis

"A wide range of material--facts about the composers' lives, notable circumstances surrounding the first performances of the work--punctuate [Steinberg's] discussion of each work.... For the amateur Read more...

User-contributed reviews


Be the first.

Similar Items

Related Subjects:(2)

User lists with this item (2)

Confirm this request

You may have already requested this item. Please select Ok if you would like to proceed with this request anyway.

Close Window

Please sign in to WorldCat 

Don't have an account? You can easily create a free account.